Lincoln Woods – Franconia Falls – And the Chipmunk Massacre…

85BF9513-60C5-4C4C-8288-FA272A42F199After last weeks beating  on Cabot, my knees were screaming to stay below 4000 feet. Especially with all this fresh snow, a nice long flat-ish wander in the mountains was calling. I wanted somewhere familiar so I didn’t have to think about where I was…Peace out.  Lincoln Woods it was!! As it was every time this summer, Lincoln Woods to Franconia falls rocks for that ‘chill’ long wander –  Of course this time it was in a wintery magical snowy bliss-land. My first time here in winter and it was just as special (if not more) than my summer excursions here. I wasn’t sure what to expect on a Saturday in the winter – I know what the parking area looks like on any weekend in the summer  ($#$!show!!).

 

 

 

 

I landed in the parking area off the Kanc just about 8am.  That drive up the Kanc was epic. Summer or winter – that roads like my ‘yellow brick road’ – it always leads to something amazing!!!! This Saturday morning I was pleasantly surprised to see a handful (ok maybe 2 handfuls) of cars. Sweet!!!! This is always a conundrum for me. Happy to see people and happy not to see people.  I encourage and want people to get outside and play and get sweaty in nature!! Get their butt kicked  by a few mountains, or even just a meander. Just get outside!!! BUT – big big BUT!!! I don’t want them on my trails!!! Ha! Ok. I know, they aren’t mine. There’s definitely something to be said for having a trail, the woods, mountains, nature all to your self. Quiet. Peace. Solitude. HEAVEN.  How about we just say not on the trails when I am on them? 🙂  So anyways yes, I was happy to see the Lincoln woods lot vacant 🙂

 

 

 

 

This lot serves as the trailhead to many hiking spots and mountains; Owlshead, Bonds, Bondcliff, Franconia Falls, and Black Pond, just to name a few! There is one main trail that all of these other trails break off from – the Lincoln Woods Trail.  It’s actually an old railroad bed – a flat gorgeous walk along the river – with SO many options to get lost. No really – it would be easy to get lost out here in the Pemigewasset 🙂 But also safe for those just looking for a walk. It’s a place you see backpackers heading in to winter camp – right beside families pulling their kiddos along in a sled. Kinda neat. Today was all that, and a dead chipmunk.

 

 

 

 

For all of what I referenced above the trail is well packed. Being one of the first ones there only one day after a big storm –  snowshoe, bareboot, cross country ski (or yes sled) would work for much of the beginning of the trail. I bare booted until the intersection with Osseo – then the snowshoes went on and stayed on the rest of the 7ish miles. Although after Osseo the trail gets use – its probably not as much as the others.

 

 

 

 

After about 2.8 miles you come to a little stone thingy (yea, not really sure what to call that thing) and a skinny little bridge up ahead.  It’s here you bear left for Franconia Falls. The trail continues mostly flat, but the terrain does get a little more rooty and rocky – eventually heading up hill a bit- you’re no longer on the rail road bed. It was here at this intersection, where so many times this summer we stopped to snag a nice sunny warm pic – that the massacre happened. We stopped as usual – me trying to balance the phone on the stone thingy – when it happened. I see Wyatt and the look – and then I see the chipmunk – what the heck is a chipmunk doing sitting on a branch in 4 feet of snow!??! And then it’s all unfolding – Wyatt before I know it is chest deep in the snow with his face digging around in what looks like a downed tree – Tearing it up!! All I can think is that he’s gonna hurt himself. As I am screaming running towards him he stops suddenly, and looks up all

88EE9521-0D99-4E24-AB58-03BAD10DA80A

twitchy – and as his head lifts I see the red liquid go flying from his face. Oh crap. Assuming he injured himself digging – I start the ‘momming’ to check
for any scrapes on his face. Odd. Nothing. Oh well. Weird…what was the red from… No way he could have gotten that thing… or… wait a sec… And there it is. Oh my. The massacre. I am half horrified and embarrassed looking around to make sure no one saw my dog totally annihilated an
innocent chipmunk – while half laughing at the pure insanity this dog has for rodents. Seriously.  Its here I realize the leave no trace behind aint gonna fly – All I can do is try to cover up the evidence, which I do by saying a little word and apologize while throwing snow over it.

 

 

Ok then – onward. The path to Franconia Falls was pretty much untouched. We enjoyed snowshoeing by the river taking in glimpses of the snow formations on the rocks along and falls along the river, making it to the actual falls at .6 miles in. Love it here. This summer, right now in all this snow – its so peaceful. Hearing the rushing water, seeing the surrounding trees and mountains – and the power of that water. In the summer I normally walk out onto the rocks – but this time didn’t feel confident in what was safe walking snow.

 

We took it all in, snapped some pics and retraced our steps back out.  This spot is a great go-to when I want to stay flat. For always seeming so busy and crammed, it seems like once you get past the Osseo intersection – its pretty quiet. It’s an easy enough trail to start that Gram and Gramps could probably venture out for a taste of mountain and woods. And with having so many options for trails – it’s also great for those experienced ‘go get lost’ types. B2152055-F4C0-4E7F-9391-8853548DEE6E
If you check it out – say a little word for Alvin when you hit the stone thingy 🙂

Comments

Leave a comment