Here goes… 5 months, 4Ks, fatbiking, camping, exploring, more swimming and lots of smiling!

E1861C87-1239-488C-849E-2E7D1D294F9A“In life, we only regret the chances we never took”… I recently read a letter, I think that’s what it was of sorts, many of you probably read it, from a young, kind-hearted, and kick-ass lady in Australia. She was only 27, and being forced with a year to live, she shared a true life understanding and perspective on opening our eyes and realizing that we only have one life. Live it while you can. One life to be kind, to be good, to make hearts happy – ours and others. DO IT UP! 

 

That letter rang very close to me, that belief and those thoughts, it’s what kick started the whole summer off, and brought me back to the realization of lifes fragility. It also reminded me of the importance of continuously putting that reminder out there for others; encourage just one person to consider it, maybe make a change or two. Make their heart happier – And it reminded me, I had some writing to do….:)

Holy cow. Was August really the last time I touched this blog?!?! Shameful. Sorry 🙂 I suppose I should start by saying the Best Summer Ever (aka #summeroff) closed out perfectly. I camped a lot more, hiked a lot more – swam a lot more. And became even more aware of how important holding close what makes your heart happy, truly is.

 

This summer taught me a lot. Being up in the mountains, with no cell service, sleeping under the stars, only having what I need in a large camping tupperware and my truck; you realize you don’t need a lot of that junk you carry with you through life. Not gonna lie, still love me my $200 jeans (they’re the only ones long enough!!!!!), but so much of the ‘things’ I’ve collected, I can go happily without. What matters – having my family to laugh with. Floating on a lake with friends and eating guac in our bikinis.  Making the old lady at the grocery store smile and laugh as you grab the can of olives from the top shelf she can no longer reach. Taking in a sunset. Giving firewood to your neighbor. Those things make you feel good. Those things make others feel good. Happy hearts unite. That’s what its about. Spread the love.

 

And with that, I am doing children’s book post again and rolling with lots of pictures! Lots to fit in!! I am back on the blog wagon. I’ll be much better. Although it may be Kingdom Trails, hike, Kingdom Trails, hike… Yea you get where this is going. Dont forget the margs and guac, too 🙂

 

After over a year of no 4K’s because of that bum knee – WE DID IT!! Three of them since August!! And lots more non-4K’s that were just as worthy.

Carrigain, Garfield, Moose, Moats…. 

 

Carrigan! First 4K back – Hurt sooooo bad. Felt sooooo good.

Be ware – FALSE SUMMIT!!!

John Lennon Quote – “When I was five years old, my Mom told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked what I wanted to be when I grew up, I wrote down “happy”. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment and I told them they didn’t understand life.”

 

Looking back – it was the biggest leap of faith I’ve ever taken. But I look at all these smiles, I look at how much I took away from it all – Where I am – and I would leave anyone looking for that little extra nudge, with the simple advice, to follow your heart…qoute

Summary:

Carrigain via Carriage Road:  TORTURE!!! No really, a great hike. Maybe not greatest idea to do almost 12 miles on your first ride back. Note – be prepared for many false summits! The views, and pure accomplishment make it all worth it!

Garfield – AMAZING! Strongly suggest. This is a good, long, yet do-able hike. The views at the summit make you want to stick around and deal with the crazy winds.

South Moat – Perfection! This may be one of my favorites thus far. The views, the amazing trail, and the lovely man in leather shoes that asked me where the restroom was – Looking forward to doing this one again!

North Kearsarge (again and again)!  – Always a good go-to! Reminder – this is longer than you think, and with almost 2500 elevation gain, its good. Views are amazing. And make sure you stop for the Paleo bread @ the Local Grocer on the way back!

 

 


Posted

in

by

Comments

One response to “Here goes… 5 months, 4Ks, fatbiking, camping, exploring, more swimming and lots of smiling!”

  1. Cathy P Avatar
    Cathy P

    So happy for you Jess!!

    Like

Leave a comment