Take in the Good.

 

Some days are just all goodness. They warm your heart and leave you feeling like all the good juju has decided to surround you for the day.  They stand out even amongst some of
the best days as just, well, special. It can be found anywhere; a day with old friends, a morning on the water, or even from work. Mine started with an early ride up North to beat the crowds, bringing us stunning views of the sun starting to peak its rays over the mountains and lakes. Only adding to the goodness, was that every tune that blared thru the speakers happened to be a favorite, and perfect seat-dance and belt-it-out-to jam. Wyatt was in heaven with his head out the window taking in the morning air and smelling the adventure to come. IMG_6405And, even more amazingness – not one single road rage episode on the way up. Not one single Mass or CT plate got run off the road or shot dirty looks always fully deserving of course by the girl and her dog in a dirty big black pick-up. And that, right there is a small miracle!!!

 

IMG_6412
Wave socks I am sure added to the good JUJU!

The hike itself followed suit. Pulled into the lot with only a few cars. All smiling faces. Oddly, that continued all day. You usually see at least one grumpy face along the way. If nothing else, just the girl throwing a tantrum cause she’s without cell connection, and in Nature with another 2 miles to go to summit. Not today; from everyone stopping to just love all over Wyatt to some stranger asking me how my knee felt and if it was doing ok on the way down (maybe I looked that bad?!). Everyone today was happy and just full of good and smiles.

 

 

The weather was breezy and sun shiny (the kind that has the rays beaming down thru the tree tops), warm but not so hot I was worried about Wyatt. The hike and trail having done it many times, seemed nicer today. Easier on the leggers, not as slippery.

 

 

We summited and met even more good juju. Families that all seemed happy to be out. Couples that seemed in love and enjoying an adventure together. Two friends I saw right before the summit that reminded me of what it would probably look like if I took most of my friends; the experienced hiker laughing (at the fact they had actually convinced their friend to do this and that their friend hadn’t killed them yet) and encouraging the non-hiker friend how close they were – and the non-hiker friend looking amused, exhausted, and thoroughly excited that the summit was in sight. YES! Blue bird skies.

 

 

Side note: The way down, I had an epiphany. If I ever win 10 million bucks, after my good deeds and spoiling friends and family of course, I would invest in on-call chopper to snag me up from each summit and take me down. No matter the perfection of a day, this part sucks. Period. Ha!! Unless its this winter when I have promised my friend she can teach me snowboarding….then I’ll be down on a board, or my butt…

IMG_6520What I stewed over while taking in the breeze on the river so at peace, is that we all have days like this – I think it’s just how and if we take them in. One thing this crazy Summer Off has taught me is to enjoy the small things. Whatever makes you happy. The small things that so often get lost cause we are in a rush, we’re doing something and already looking at the next thing calling for our attention. I know life happens, I do remember what its like to work (HARD), and things get crazy, so much of the time, we can barley control it.  But whatever it is that makes you happy, watching your kid swim at the pool, taking the extra day off for fishing, or working that extra 5 hrs on Saturday AM to see your client extra happy – DO IT.  Your accomplishment, the joy of watching someone you love experience something amazing for the first time, your dad smiling at you proudly, a huge project you finished  that came out better than expected – A special happy day or week spent in the mountains. At the beach. Whatever it is, just take it in. Give yourself that. Whatever I do when I go back to work, not matter how busy or crazy I get, I have committed to myself to not forget to take the moment. IMG_6512

One last thought on this trip – That kind of weighs in: A good friend that stopped in while I was up there asked me a question, as he walked in as I trotted around my campsite solo in my camping outfit (shorts, uggs and flannel with crazy hair of course), possibly talking to Wyatt; “are you a loner now or what?!” It got me thinking – Crap. Am I one of those weirdo’s that spends way too much time alone with my dog? Have my friends and family not told me I am slipping to the weird version!!? My simple answer after stewing it over a lot  (it could and probably will be a whole separate post), if being a loner means finding those small moments and happiness, and being completely comfortable when I am alone and adventuring solo,  then yes. And who cares. I can find those moments and happiness lying solo by a river with my dog, as well as out with the girls. Different happiness and small moments, but happiness nonetheless. To each is own. Do what makes you happy. No judging, just take it in.

Hike Trail summary: the Champney Falls trail is a great way to summit Chocorua. Many prefer Piper because it’s more direct, but this is my favorite. With the falls, and ease of the grade. Perfection! And if you’re really on it, you can loop in The Sister’s. It’s not too short at 6.5ish, but it makes it easier on the legs.
The first part is easy grade, pretty much until you hit the junction where you can either hit the falls (bear left or keep straight to just skip the falls). Falls are nice when they’re falling. It’s not a huge waterfall so in dry times, may not get much excitement, but still nice to take in the boulders and area of the Falls.
The rest of it gets rockier and more slabs and roots. And some gentle switchbacks towards the top. You hit an area that seems like it flattens where you are about another .6ish from summit. Once you get to about .2ish – you are all on bopen rock. AMAZING views. From here you can follow the yellow dots up or blaze your own. Either way, its a mountain that is open for views, breeze, pure amazingness! You are taking it all in as you scuttle across all the open rock face to the summit you can see off the distance. Keep going. It is worth it, I promise you!!

On that note – After spending at least one night a week for the last 2 months in the Whites, I have realized this place does something for me, like the ocean; clarity, peace and creativeness. That little cabin on the river is for Sale…. Maybe I will be that ‘weird’ loaner in a cabin by the river with her dog, after all… 🙂

 

 

 


Posted

in

by

Tags:

Comments

One response to “Take in the Good.”

  1. David Lottmann Avatar
    David Lottmann

    Great post! I’m also not a big fan of the descent portion of our climbs (unless I am on skis) so I highly recommend a quality set of trekking poles. They make it a bit bigger. Also I try to plan loop hikes so I climb the steeper trail and descend the gentler trail. Take the Franconia Loop for example. Up Falling Waters down Bridle is easier than the clockwise route. Keep sharing your adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment